SACBC elections

From left: Bp Seane, Abp Brislin, Bp Siphuka

Elections for the different services in our Southern African Catholic Bishops' Conference (SACBC) are done every three years, in two different moments. 

During our gathering in August we elect the president, first vice president and second vice president. The following year in January we elect the members of the different departments and offices.

This morning, therefore, the first part of our elections took place. After reading from the SACBC statutes, Bishop Barry Wood OMI presented a reflection on "Jesus the humble leader" (by Andrew Gordon-Brown and which can be downloaded by clicking HERE).

The present president and vice presidents then shared on the qualities required in their respective services together with some of the present challenges. Aware that in January this process will continue, the head of the different departments shared on what is required in their areas:
  • Christian formation, liturgy and culture
  • Formation, life and ministry of the clergy
  • Catholic Social Action
  • Formation, life and apostolate of Laity
  • Ecumenism and inter-religious dialogue
  • Finance
Then... the process of nomination and voting started. These were the results:
  • SACBC president, Archbishop Stephen Brislin (Archdiocese of Cape Town) reelected
  • SACBC first vice president, Bishop Sithembele Siphuka (Diocese of Mthatha)
  • SACBC second vice president, Bishop Valentine Seane (Diocese of Gaborone, Botswana)
We are grateful to them all for accepting this service for the next three years (which will officially start next January 2016)

About Me

My photo

Bishop of the Diocese of Manzini (Swaziland)

Social Media


Follow by Email


Created with flickr badge.


Blog Archive


Theme Support

Need our help to upload or customize this blogger template? Contact me with details about the theme customization you need.