First visit to Zambia. It is part of the IMBISA project sharing our hopes and concerns regarding the situation in Zimbabwe.

(IMBISA is the Inter-Regional Meeting of the Bishops of Southern Africa. It brings together bishops from Angola, Bostwana, Lesotho, Namibia, Sao Tome & Principe, South Africa, Swaziland and Zimbabwe.)

There are eleven dioceses in Zambia. Two dioceses are still waiting the appointment of a new Bishop. Catholics are around 25% of the population.

Though "much closer" to us in many ways, Zambia is not part of IMBISA but of "AMECEA: the Association of Member Episcopal Conferences in Eastern Africa" which gathers Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Sudan, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Djibouti and Somalia.

I am told the reason is historical. Zambia got its independence in 1964... much before other countries in the South. IMBISA did not exist those days...

About Me

My photo

Bishop of the Diocese of Manzini (Swaziland)

Social Media


Follow by Email


Created with flickr badge.


Blog Archive


Theme Support

Need our help to upload or customize this blogger template? Contact me with details about the theme customization you need.